About the republicAbout the republic

About the republic

Location: in the centre of the Russian Federation, on the East European Plain, at the confluence of the Volga River and the Kama River.

Total area: 67836.2 km2.

Capital: Kazan (797 km east of Moscow, population: 1,144,000).

Administrative territorial division: 43 municipal regions and 2 urban districts (Kazan and Naberezhnye Chelny).

Head of the Republic: the President of the Republic of Tatarstan.
President of the Republic of Tatarstan Mr. Rustam Nurgaliyevich Minnikhanov.

Government: Сabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Tatarstan, Prime Minister Aleksey Valeryevich Pesoshin.

Parliament: State Council of the Republic of Tatarstan (unicameral), Chairman Mukhametshin Farid Khairullovich.

Population: 3803,2 people (2012), Tatars - 53.2%, Russians – 39.7% (2010 Census results).